Grow Your Own Hops

I thought this might be of interest to some of you. My wife is planting a garden and as I was thumbing through a catalog I noticed that Hop rhizomes are for sale right now. The thought is tumbling around my head to grow a little bit of hops. I thought I should research it a little and share what I find with the rest of you.

From what I’m gathering hops can grow in just about any climate, you just need to plant them in an area that gets a lot of sunlight. After looking at the video below it looks like I don’t have the room to do this, but for those that have the space you may find this interesting.

Here are a few links to where you can buy the rhizomes.

Organically Grown Hops from Thyme Garden

BarleynVines
Homebrewing.org
High Hops.net
ebrew.com

Order them now if you’re gonna do this. Hop season is coming to a close and these sites are selling out quick.

This entry was posted in Homebrewing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Grow Your Own Hops

  1. Guy in Ohio says:

    Mine are already in the ground. Four varieties … Centennial, Columbus, Northern Brewer, and Cascade. Tired of trying to find fresh whole hops!

Leave a Reply

